What 4 groups make up Jerusalem?

What are the 4 sections of Jerusalem?

The Old City of Jerusalem splits into four quarters; The Jewish Quarter, The Armenian Quarter, The Christian Quarter, and The Muslim Quarter.

Why is there 4 quarters in Jerusalem?

King David made it the capital of the Jewish people in the 10th century BCE. Since the 19th century, the Old City has traditionally been divided into four quarters (Jewish, Christian, Moslem and Armenian). … The Jordanians expelled the Jewish residents and destroyed the Jewish Quarter.

What races are in Jerusalem?

Jerusalemites are of varied national, ethnic and religious denominations and include European, Asian and African Jews, Arabs of Sunni Shafi’i Muslim, Melkite Orthodox, Melkite Catholic, Latin Catholic, and Protestant backgrounds, Armenians of the Armenian Orthodox and Armenian Catholic , Assyrians largely of the Syriac …

Why do Armenians have a quarter in Jerusalem?

The central reasons for the existence of a separate Armenian Quarter is the miaphysitism and distinct language and culture of the Armenians, who, unlike the majority of Christians in Jerusalem (also in Israel and Palestine), are neither Arab nor Palestinian.

What country is Gaza?

Gaza City

Gaza Location of Gaza within Palestine
Coordinates: 31°31′N 34°27′ECoordinates: 31°31′N 34°27′E
State State of Palestine
Governorate Gaza
IMPORTANT:  How did Canaan become Israel?
Travel to Israel